Fancy Vs. Frugal: Stick Foundation

Hi Everyone!

I’m starting a new series today called Fancy Vs. Frugal. In this series I will compare a high end version of a product with a cheaper option to see if you need to go fancy or if frugal will do the job. Today I decided to compare the fancy Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Invisible Cover Foundation Stick with the frugal Maybelline Fit Me Shine Free Foundation Stick. Until recently I had never tried a stick foundation, but after purchasing the MUFE stick, I became obsessed. Stick foundations are mess-free, quick and easy, which is perfect when I don’t have a ton of time.

The Price Comparison

There is a huge price gap between these two products, which makes this especially interesting. The MUFE retails for $50 CAD and you get 12.5g of product. I bought mine at IMATS for $30 though. The Maybelline stick was around $10 for 9g of product. Definitely a big difference in price.

Maybelline Fit Me Stick Claims

This foundation claims to set down to a ‘lightweight powder finish’ and promises flawless, shine-free skin.

MUFE Ultra HD Stick Claims

This claims to create a flawless complexion with an invisible look on the skin. This also claims to be 4k compatible, which I’m not going to be testing since most technology hasn’t caught up to that and even with a brand new camera, I haven’t either.

Finish and Feel

The Fit Me foundation feels like absolutely nothing on the skin. When I was swiping it on, it felt like my skin with no makeup on even with 2 layers, which is perfect for all day wear. With that being said, it’s definitely not full coverage. I have a mark on my cheek currently and even with 2 coats, it needed more coverage to be covered. It is advertised as shine free matte and although it’s not dewy, it’s not flat either. So still suitable for drier skin types as well as oily.

DSC00262 (1)

The MUFE is definitely a slightly heavier feeling foundation than the Maybelline, but it also has more coverage. I am comfortable with 1 layer of the MUFE and I always feel like that’s enough. I definitely wanted 2 layers at least of the Maybelline. The finish of this is different than the Maybelline, since it sets to be a dewier finish on me. Both finishes are good, and it’s really about preference.

DSC00049

I like these foundations for different things. For natural makeup days I will definitely reach for the Maybelline since it feels completely weightless, but for more glam looks I’d stick with the MUFE since it has more coverage.

I apologize that the photos were taken with different lighting; natural light wasn’t on my side today when I took the first photo, so I used my soft box lights.

Shades

The Maybelline foundation comes in 11 shades, which is good for drugstore but not fantastic considering all the skin tones in the world. There are lots of medium and light shades, but it seems to be lacking in dark shades. I wear 110 Porcelain in this foundation.

The MUFE has 15 shades, which is slightly better, but only marginally considering the price difference. They definitely cater to a wider variety with their range though. I wear R230.

Wear

Generally speaking I don’t have issues with foundations lasting on me so both lasted equally well.

The Verdict

In all, I’m extremely impressed with both of these. The Maybelline really held it’s own for being less than $10 and it definitely wins for price. I love the feel of the Maybelline as well, but I prefer the finish and the coverage of the MUFE. In all, I honestly think both of these are excellent. I would say if you have skin issues that you really want to cover, spend the money for the MUFE, since it has better coverage and you need less. If you have pretty normal skin, you could definitely go for the Maybelline. Other than coverage the main difference is the finish, like I said the MUFE is definitely dewier. In all, the frugal definitely held it’s own, but the fancy is great too!

Verdict: Tie, but not because they’re dupes.

There you have it! What other products would you like to see in this series? Let me know in the comments!

 

Bye for now!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Fancy Vs. Frugal: Stick Foundation

Let's talk beauty, leave me a comment below!