Lorac Mega Pro Palette First Impression and Swatches

Hi Everyone!

I’m so excited to be writing this post, you have no idea. I was able to get my hands on the Lorac Mega Pro and I just had to show you all how stunning this palette is. The eyeshadows are amazing quality, super pigmented and very buttery. The quality is just as good as the Pro Palettes, which is awesome because I love the Pro Palettes. So without further adieu, let’s move on to the review!

About the Palette

This palette is limited edition from Lorac’s ‘Royal’ Holiday 2014 Collection. It has sold out on Lorac’s website, but Amazon is still receiving shipments and it seems to be going in and out of stock, so you have a chance if you check back often (from what I know anyway). It contains 32 eye shadows, 28 of which are new colours. 16 are matte and 16 are shimmer. The only repeat shades all come from the Lorac Pro Palette and they’re all staple type shades- White, Cream, Black and Espresso. I have no complaints whatsoever about that.

The Packaging

loracmegapropackaging

insidepalette

The packaging of this palette is in the same style as Lorac’s Pro and Pro 2 palettes. It’s a rubberized-cardboard outside with a large mirror inside. The outside of this is a burgundy shade, which I love. It really fits in well with the royal theme of the collection. The rubberized packaging does attract, dirt, dust and fingerprints and it doesn’t clean up well so that’s a bit annoying. Especially with the shades being so soft, it does get dirty fairly fast.

The Shades

theshades

As I mentioned earlier, this has 32 shades ranging from light highlights, light browns, warm browns, jewel tones etc. This palette has tons of variety, as there are multiple options in each ‘type’ of shade. What I mean by that is that there is more than 1 transition shade, more than 1 highlight, lots of crease colours etc. This is a do it all palette to me, it has everything I need and I don’t reach for other palettes when I use this.

Swatches

So now I’m going to show you what the shades look like, with and without flash.

Cream

Cream.jpg

The first shade in the palette is Cream, which is a matte very light warm beige. This is very close to my skin tone, so I like to put this all over the lid to create an even base to work on.

Fawn

Fawn.jpg

The second matte is Fawn. Fawn is a warm beige with peachy undertones. I love this kind of shade as a transition colour, so that’s what I like to use this for. It really warms up an eye look.

Camel

camel.jpg

Camel is a warm tan shades with lots of orange undertone. This is also a great transition shade, to create natural depth in an eye look.

Sepia

Sepia.jpg

Sepia is a warm, medium brown with soft terracotta orangey undertones. It is similar to Camel, but more brown and darker.

Dusty Plum

dustyplum.jpg

The fifth matte shade is Dusty Plum. This is plum-mauve shade that has some grey undertones.

Orchid

orchid.jpg

The next shade is Orchid, which is a pinky lavender. This is such a pretty shade, It’s light so I don’t find it’s quite as vibrant on the eye. Next time I use this, I’m going to put a white base under it to see if that will make it more vibrant.

Mulberry

mulberry.jpg

Next we have one of my favourites from the palette, Mulberry. Mulberry is a deep berry colour with lots of red undertones. This is such a great fall shade. I think that this will make the green in my eyes stand out, but it worked really well with my blue contacts as well.

Espresso

espresso.jpg

Espresso is a deep chocolatey brown shade. I love this as an alternative to black, as it’s a softer way to add darkness for daytime looks.

White

white.jpg

The first ‘matte’ shade in the 2nd row is White. It’s a bright, stark white that does have very subtle shimmer despite being called a matte. It doesn’t translate on the eye though.

Khaki

khaki.jpg

Khaki is the next shade and it’s a cool brown with soft subtle grey undertones.

Brown

brown.jpg

After Khaki is Brown. Brown is a medium brown that looks cool in the pan, but has more warm yellow tones when swatched.

Stone

stone.jpg

Stone is a perfectly named shade. It really is a rock type shade, with a perfect balance of grey and brown.

Lilac.jpg

The next shade is Lilac. This very light lavender shade is pigmented, but so light, so it’s not that impactful on it’s own. It is much better over a white base.

Wisteria

wisteria.jpg

After Lilac is Wisteria. Wisteria is a grey-plum shade that is very neutral and soft in tone. This would look lovely with Lilac on the lid and this shade in the crease, their undertones would compliment each other in my opinion.

Gray

gray.jpg

Next is Gray. Gray isn’t what I would have called this as it’s very blue, I think Steel would have been a great name for this.

Black

black.jpg

The last of the mattes is Black. I don’t find this to be the blackest black, it’s more charcoal. This is fine with me because it’s easier to work with and blend out than a very black shadow. I don’t tend to reach for black much anyway, I more often reach for softer shades, such as espresso in this palette.

Opal

opal.jpg

The first of the 16 shimmer shades is Opal. This is a white gold shade that reflects yellow in certain lights.

Sand

sand.jpg

Sand is a shimmery gold-champagne shade.

Copper

copper.jpg

This is a true copper shade, reminds me of a shiny new penny. I think this shade would be amazing on green eyes!

Sienna

Sienna.jpg

Sienna is a medium warm brown.

Apricot

apricot.jpg

Apricot is a true light orange shade. I think this would be amazing with Nectar from the Pro Palette 2!

Blush

blush.jpg

Blush is a light frosty pink. I picture this shade being the perfect everyday shade, really pretty just swept on the lid.

Merlot

merlot.jpg

Next is Merlot, a burgundy wine shade. When I first saw the pictures of this palette, this shade instantly reminded me of the Maybelline Color Tattoo in Pomegranate Punk, so I swatched them next to each other, they are pretty similar, Pomegranate Punk is just a little more brown.

pomegranate punk vs merlot

Pomegranate Punk (left) Merlot (right)

Indigo

indigo.jpg

Indigo is a deep navy shade with multi-coloured glitter (bright blue, pink, silver). This shade is stunning, but I haven’t quite figured out how to wear it.

Vanilla

Vanilla.jpg

Vanilla is a shimmery white that is warm soft. It’s not a stark shade like Snow from the Pro Palette 2. I thought they might be similar, but they really aren’t as Vanilla is much more yellow.

snow and vanilla

Snow (left), Vanilla (right)

Cashmere

cashmere.jpg

Cashmere is a champagne beige shade with soft shimmer.

Smokey Topaz

smokeytopaz.jpg

The next shade is Smokey Topaz which looks like a shimmery taupe in the pan, but when swatched it’s much more bronze. I personally love these kinds of shades, so I’m going to get a lot of use out of this.

Dusty Rose

dustyrose.jpg

Dusty rose is a rosy brown shade with very subtle shimmer.

Granite

granite.jpg

Granite is a rich metallic brown-taupe shade. This would be amazing on the lid in a dark brown smokey eye look.

Maroon

maroon.jpg

Maroon is a reddish brown shade with very soft shimmer.

Deep Teal

deepteal.jpg

The second last shade is Deep Teal. This a deep blue green, almost an emerald type shade. This is such a pretty shade, I’ll be interested to see how this translates on the eye. I may end up putting a white base under it to make the green stand out.

Caviar

caviar.jpg

The very last shade in this palette is Caviar, which is a very similar shade to Black in the palette except this has a little shimmer.

 

There you have it, we made it through all 32 shades! Leave me a comment below if there’s a shade you want to see more of! I LOVE this palette and I can’t see myself putting it down anytime soon.

Bye for now!

Chelsey

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Lorac Mega Pro Palette First Impression and Swatches

    • Thank you! I do consider this palette to be of good value because you get 32 eye shadows for $59 which works out to be 1.84 each. I have never made it through a whole shadow so they do last a long time. This palette though might be hard to get now because it is limited edition.

      Like

  1. Pingback: Collection Series Part 3: Eyeshadow Palettes | Makeup By Chelsey

Let's talk beauty, leave me a comment below!