Collection Series Part 1: Blush

Hi Everyone!

Today marks the start of a new series! I showed you my Makeup Collection and Storage a few weeks ago, but I didn’t dive into what exactly was inside the storage. I thought it might be fun to look at different parts of my collection to see what I’ve collected. I was inspired to do this by Tati from GlamLifeGuru, she recently did a Makeup Graveyard series where she went through areas of her collection and got rid of stuff she didn’t like or stuff that had went bad. I may not get rid of much since I haven’t been collecting makeup that long, but I still think it’ll be fun to go through my collection and maybe I’ll pull out some stuff that I haven’t used for a little while.

This post has nothing to do with the amount of stuff I have, so please don’t take this as bragging in any way. Not my style at all. I am a blush junkie and I’m not sorry about it haha.

MAC Blushes

MAC Blushes

MACswatches

To start off my blush collection are my MAC blushes. They aren’t the softest blushes to the touch, but it doesn’t seem to affect the pigmentation. These are very pigmented, so less is definitely more because once you have too much, it’s not the easiest to blend out. I still love these and this palette is super handy for traveling.

Top Row (left to right): Margin, Peaches, Melba

Bottom Row (left to right): Fleur Power, Springsheen, Cantaloupe

Milani Baked Blushes

MilaniBlushes

Milaniswatches

Next in my collection are the Milani Baked Blushes. These are some of my absolute favourites, super smooth and very pigmented. These are also fairly inexpensive, at about $8 which is awesome for such a great blush. Sadly Milani isn’t really available in Canada, so I bought these online.

Left to right: Delizioso Pink, Luminoso, Bella Rosa

Makeup Geek Blushes

MUGBlushes

MUG swatches

Next I have 2 Makeup Geek blushes. I have mixed feelings on these. When I first put them on, it looks amazing. It’s pigmented and super smooth. So what’s the problem? By the end of the day- it’s not there anymore. I’m not sure what the issue is since my skin is pretty normal, but these just don’t wear well on me. I don’t reach for these often for that reason. I’m not sure if anyone else has run into this problem or my skin just doesn’t mesh with these. I think for $12, there are other blushes I like more than these that last much longer.

Left to right: Head Over Heels, Honeymoon

Essence Silky Touch Blushes

EssenceBlushes

Essence swatches

The next 2 blushes in my collection are a great budget buy. These blushes are super smooth and most of all super inexpensive! I believe these are 2-$3 and you wouldn’t know it because these are comparable to high end- easily. If you can find these, pick them up!

Left to right: Life’s a Cherry, Adorable

BH Cosmetics Blush Palettes

BHblushes

In my collection I have 2 BH Blush Palettes. These aren’t amazing quality, but they’re okay since I paid less than $10 for each of them. I think these would be great for a beginner to have a variety of options pretty inexpensively. These swatch horribly, but they apply much better to the cheeks.

Glamorous

professional

Top: Glamorous Blush Palette

Bottom: Professional Blush Palette

ELF Blushes

ELFBlushes

ELF

Pink Passion, Mellow Mauve, Headliner ^

Next I have 2 ELF Studio blushes and one HD Liquid/Cream Blush.

The Powder blushes are $3 and are buttery soft and quite pigmented. It almost feels like a cream, it’s that soft. I haven’t reached for these in a bit, but it’s not because of quality. Only knock is the packaging, mine has faded from light getting in the little window in the lid.

Bright Pink- Pink Passion

Mauve- Mellow Mauve

The HD blush I have is INSANELY pigmented. You need like one drop to do both cheeks. I love this blush during the winter because it looks exactly like flush from the cold. If applied lightly, it’s one of the most natural blushes in my collection.

HD Blush- Headliner

Nars

NARSblush

orgasm

In my collection, I only own one Nars blush. I honestly don’t think these are worth their spendy price tag. I know that Nars blushes are insanely popular, but I think there are better blushes for less money. I have the infamous shade Orgasm and it’s almost gritty in texture. It’s pretty once it’s on, but it does need to be built up. I don’t reach for this as often as I thought I would when I purchased it.

NYX Blushes

NYXblushes

NYX

Next up are NYX blushes. There is nothing wrong with these, but for some reason I almost never reach for these. I have no idea why. No issues with quality, I just wonder if these aren’t the kind of shades I gravitate towards.

From Left to right: Pinched, Mocha

Miscellaneous

miscblushes

misc

The last section of my collection is the few misc blushes I have left.

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Blush- far left (Luminous Flush)- The first of the misc. blushes is an Hourglass blush. I love this blush. It has the perfect amount of glow and the shade comes across very natural and neutral.

Tarte Amazonian Clay Blush- second from left (Tipsy)- Next I have one Tarte blush. This looks like a hot coral in the pan, but it’s much softer on. It doesn’t feel buttery to the touch, but it applies nice and smooth to the cheeks. It is also very long lasting.

Clinique Cheek Pop- third from left (Plum Pop). The third blush is a Clinique Cheek pop. I got this because I have no other shades like this and I appreciate that about it. it is such a different shade though, so it doesn’t go with tons of looks. I’m okay with that because it’s a really pretty shade.

Physician’s Formula Happy Booster Blush- far right (Natural). The last of the randoms is from Physician’s Formula. I only have one of these because I do find Physician’s formula expensive for drug store. This is still a good blush. It’s pretty natural and neutral. I usually pick this up for ‘no makeup’ makeup days.

So there you have it, my blush collection! What else would you like to see in my Collection Series? Leave me a comment below!

Bye for now!

Chelsey

13 thoughts on “Collection Series Part 1: Blush

  1. You must have been reading my mind…I thought about doing the same series this morning!

    P.S. You’ve been nominated for the One Lovely Blog Award!

    Like

  2. Pingback: October 2014 Favourites | Makeup By Chelsey

  3. Pingback: Collection Series Part 2: Highlighters | Makeup By Chelsey

  4. Pingback: Collection Series Part 4: Pigments and Glitters | Makeup By Chelsey

  5. I LOVE blusher! I too have so many in my collection. I did a blusher post last year which I’m recycling for #ArchiveDay today if you’re at all interested. (http://www.thosewordsshewrote.blogspot.com or @words_she_wrote) I’m not a regular beauty blogger, but I am obsessed with makeup, especially blush. At the moment I’m using a stunning bright pink called Ecstasy by Chantecaille. It’s super pigmented, but I love it. Blush, oh how I love thee! X

    Like

  6. Interesting that you didn’t like the nars blush. I’ve seen so many people rave about it, and I couldn’t really understand the hype either. The shades you have from nyx are very pretty too. Xx

    Like

Let's talk beauty, leave me a comment below!