September 2014 Favourites!

Hi Everyone!

September is nearing the end and that means it’s favourites time! I have really been experimenting with my makeup looks this month so I didn’t have obvious favourites right away, I had to think about these.

BH Blush Palettes

BH blush palettes

My first favourite for September is a ‘budget buy’. I picked up the Professional (left) and Glamorous (right) palettes earlier this month and I have been really enjoying the extra blush variety. I’ll admit when I first got these, I wasn’t too excited as they swatched horribly. Luckily they look much better on your cheeks than swatched. These were really inexpensive (about $7.50 each), yet I still have loads of variety. In addition to using them on their own, I’ve also been layering them with other blush to make unique combos.

bronzepeach

This bronzey-peach shade is one of my favourites. I own nothing like it, but it blends so beautifully with my bronzer to create a bronzed glowy look. This would have been a great summer shade, but I’m still wearing it into fall.

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Blush- Luminous Flush

hourglassblush

On the complete opposite of the blush scale, my next favourite isn’t a budget buy by any means. I did get this in a blog sale, so I got a bit off even though it was never used. It’s a really pigmented, yet naturally looking corally-rose shade. This just gives me subtle glow and a nice flush of colour.

hourglassswatch

Lorac Pro Palette

ProPalette

No surprise here, but I have been loving the Pro Palette to death. I do really love this in combination with the Pro Palette 2, which was a favourite from last month, but this is beautiful on it’s own as well. I have been meaning to review this, but I do want to include some sample looks like I did for the Pro Palette 2, but every time I use this I’m usually heading right out the door to class. It just has so many great fall colours. I have particularly been loving Mauve, Sable, Espresso, Garnet and Lt. Bronze. These shades look especially stunning when I’m wearing my blue contacts!

Sigma Brushes- Flat Definer, E40, Pencil Brush

I have 3 favourites brushes this month. The Sigma Flat Definer brush has become a fast favourite of mine. This brush is a great size to quickly push colour into the lower lashline. I most often use this with a dark colour (like Sable or Espresso) to really define my lower lashline before I buff it out with my next favourite brush, which is the Sigma E30 Pencil Brush.

flatdefiner

I have never owned a pencil brush before this one and I must say there is nothing really like it. I will usually dip this in a lighter shade like Taupe from the Pro Palette or Lt Brown from the Pro 2 Palette and then buff it along the lower lashline to blend. It makes everything look so seamless. I think a pencil brush is a staple brush to have.

pencilbrush

The last brush I have been loving is the Sigma E40 Blending Brush. This brush is perfect for adding a transition colour. I love dipping this in my transition shade and with pretty little effort, my eye look looks really blended and smooth. It’s also great for softening the edges of crease colours. Overall, a very useful brush.

E40

Maybelline Colossal Volum Express Mascara

colossal

My second last favourite of the month is a drugstore mascara. I have been searching for a good drugstore mascara that doesn’t run and doesn’t make my eyes itchy and gives separation, length and volume of course. This isn’t perfect in the run department as it will run a little if my eyes are watery, but it’s not itchy and it gives amazing length, separation and volume. It doesn’t get clumpy at all and it gives loads of volume. I really like this mascara and it’s pretty inexpensive.

MAC Diva Lipstick

divadivaswatch

My last favourite for September has to go to MAC Diva lipstick. My friend Jen was recently at a MAC store and she brought this back for me because she knew I had my eye on it. It’s such a beautiful deep, vampy burgundy wine shade. I don’t have anything else like it, my dark lipsticks have a lot of purple in them where this is definitely red-wine toned. If you’re looking for a lip liner to pair with this Jordana Cabernet pairs perfectly and it’s super cheap. I have to add that this lipstick looks amazing on people with fair skin and blue eyes…ugggghhhh! The burgundy undertones contrast really well with blue eye colours making them pop like crazy! I know I will be wearing this TONS now that fall is here.

So there you have it, my September favourites! I have been loving transitioning to fall makeup this month and I can’t wait to experiment even more! Leave me a comment below and let me know what you have been loving in the month, I’d love to find some new potential favourites for October!

Bye for now,

Chelsey

13 thoughts on “September 2014 Favourites!

Let's talk beauty, leave me a comment below!